Pictures from Troodos
Stavros tou Agiasmati.Platanistasa village, 15 km from Argos, 30 km off the Lefkosia Astromeritis road. A 15th century church, lying about 3 km outside the charming old village, retains the most complete cycles of mural paintings of the second half of the 15th century in Cyprus. Ask for the key from the village priest.
Panagia tou Araka. Lagoudera village is 15 km from Agros or off the Kakopetria-Troodos-Lemesos Road (Karvounas crossroad). The 12th century church situated just outside the village has fine frescoes. Together with Asinou church and that of Agios Nikolaos tis Stegis, it is considered to be one of the most important Byzantine churches of the island. Ask for the key and be escorted by the priest, who is to be found in the premises next to the church.
Timiou Stavrou. 3km below kato Amiantos, off the Karvouna-Lemesos Road, 32 km from Lemesos. Once the property of Jean de Lusignan, son of the Lusignan King of Cyprus, Hugh IV. There are two interesting churches:the 14th-century church of Timiou Stavrou, the Holy Cross, with beautiful wall paintings, ,and the church of Panayia Katholiki in the center of the village.
Agios Nikolaos tis Stegis. The church of Agios Nikolaos tis Stegis stands about 5 km to the north of the village. It is completely painted with murals dating from the 11th to the 17th century and is considered one of the most interesting Byzantine churches on the island. The small 16th century-church of Panayia Theotokos, off the main road, has retained about half of its murals. The church of Agios Georgios Perachoritis has some very original wall paintings belonging to the first quarter of the 16th century. The old quarter of the village with its traditional houses has been declared a protected area.
There are four painted churches in and around the village. The church of Agios Sozomenos, dating from the early 16th century, retains a complete series of frescoes in the post-Byzantine style. The church of Archangelos Michail is a timber-roofed chapel and is completely painted in the post-Byzantine style. Nearby is the larger church of Panagia Podithou, which once belonged to a monastery. It was erected in 1502, and its paintings are of the Italo-Byzantine style. The small church of Agia Paraskevi on the old Kakopetria-Galata Road has murals dating to 1514.
5km from Nikitari village, off the main Lefkosia-Troodos road, around 20 km north of Kakopetria. An early 12th century church dedicated to the Virgin Mary.
Panayia tou Moutoula. Less than a Kilometer further up is Moutoulas village, with it's tiny 13th-century chapel of Panayia tou Moutoula, an early example of the steep-pitched wooden roof type with frescoes dating to 1280. Visitors can obtain the key from the adjacent house. The traditional craft of wooden carved basins has been preserver in Moutoullas.
Archangelos Michail. The third village up the mountain is Pedoulas, a summer resort famous for its cherries. The painted church of Archangelos Michail in the lower part of the village dates from 1474. Visitors can obtain the key from the adjacent house.
20 km west of Pedoulas village. The most famous and richest monastery in Cyprus. Founded in the 1100 and dedicated to the Virgin Mary, it possesses one of the three surviving icons ascribed to Saint Luke. The first President of Cyprus, Archbishop Makarios III, served here as a novice. At his own wish he was buried at Throni, 3 km west of the Monastery. Fairs are held at Kykkos on the 15th August and 8th September.
5km northwest of Platres, on the Platres-Prodromos Road. This beautiful monastery was originally founded in the 13th century. The present church dates from 1731 and contains many valuable icons. A large religious fair is held on the grounds on 15th August.
The area of Krasochoria, meaning 'wine villages', is found on the south side of the Troodos range. Traditions are kept alive on these villages, where wine making is still the main occupation. The are produces famous dry red wines (Omodos, Arsos, Vasa and Koilani)
11 km southwest of Platres. A wine-producing village, once the property of Sir John De Brie, Prince Galilee, with the Monastery of Stavros, 'Holy Cross', standing by the stone-paved square. A festival is held in the village every August, and there is a large religious fair on the 14th of September.
4km west of Platres. Famous for its pottery and its lookoumi sweet. Visitors can see the Pilavakeion private pottery collection.
1.5 km southwest of Pera Pedi, off the Lemesos-Troodos Road. An attractive wine producing village with the single aisle vaulted church of Agia Mavri, typical of the 12th century. Also has its own local ecclesiastical museum.
RETURN TO THE TOURISM PAGE
RETURN TO THE CYPRUS ACCESS PANEL