The 10 - Point Agreement of 19 May 1979

Following is the text of the agreement between the president of the Republic, Mr Kyprianu and the Turkish Cypriot leader, Mr Denktash, concluded on 19 May 1979 during a meeting under the auspices of the UN Secretary-General Dr Waldheim:

  1. It was agreed to resume the inter-communal talks on 15 June 1979.
  2. The basis of the talks will be the Makarios-Denktash guidelines of 12 February 1977 and the UN resolutions relevant to the Cyprus Question.
  3. There should be respect for human rights and fundamental freedoms for all citizens of the Republic.
  4. The talks will deal with all territorial and constitutional aspects.
  5. Priority will be given to reaching agreement on the resettlement of Varosha under UN auspices simultaneously with the beginning of the consideration by the interlocutors of the constitutional and territorial aspects of a comprehensive settlement. After agreement on Varosha has been reached it will be implemented without awaiting the outcome of the discussion on other aspects of the Cyprus problem.
  6. It was agreed to abstain from any action which might jeopardise the outcome of the talks, and special importance will be given to the initial practical measures by both sides to promote goodwill, mutual confidence and the return to normal conditions.
  7. The demilitarisation of the Republic of Cyprus is envisaged, and matters relating thereto will be discussed.
  8. The independence, sovereignty, territorial integrity and non-alignment of the Republic should be adequately guaranteed against union in whole or in part with any other country and against any form of partition or secession.
  9. The inter-communal talks will be carried out in a continuing and sustained manner, avoiding any delay.
  10. The inter-communal talks will take place in Nicosia.

Constitutional Aspects

[Mirrors||Home||Brief Overview||Detailed History||Constitutional Aspects||Enclaved Greek Cypriots||Missing Persons||Destruction of Cultural Heritage||Violations of Human Rights||Foreign Press Articles||United Nations||European Union||Greek Government||Related Links||Search||Feedback]
Number of accesses since Thu Feb 8 13:44:06 EST 1996:
Giorgos Zacharia ( 1995-1999.
Last modified: Fri Jun 21 10:40:57 EDT 1996