He was born in Limassol in 1902.

He studied law at the University of Athens, obtaining a distinction of excellence and was nominated for a doctorate in 1923.

Later, he did his postgraduate studies in London and become a Barrister-at-Law in 1946. He successfully practiced law in Limassol from 1924-1940.

In the same town, he was a member of the District Educational Committee and an Inspector of Greek Educational Establishments.

In 1940, he was appointed as a District Judge in Nicosia and thereafter, in 1942, as the President of the District Court of Famagusta - the first Cypriot President - 1944.

In 1944, he was appointed as Solicitor General until 1952 and then as Attorney General from 1952-1960.

During the period of 1955-1959, he was detached as Legal Adviser to the Colonial Office in London and as Commissioner for the Reviewing of Cypriot Legislation, a post in which he become acquainted with the English method of public administration.

From 1960-1984, he was the Attorney General of the Republic of Cyprus. He represented Cyprus at world law conferences, international seminars and in European councils.

In 1984, he was appointed as Special Adviser to the President of the Republic of Cyprus on legal and other international matters.

He wrote 65 complete books and more than 5,000 essays, the contents of which were mainly legal. His work is found at universities and in libraries abroad. Among the tens of honors and distinctions which were bestowed upon him were those of the Queen’s Counsel (QC) and the Athens Academic Prize for his outstanding literary work. A fact which is worthy of note is that he became known worldwide for his shrewd legal mind, his sobriety and for always being down-to-earth. (He is even referred to in the international Who’s Who).

 Sadly, he passed away on Saturday 1 March 1997. His publicly-funded funeral took place on Tuesday, 4 March 1997 at the Panayia Evangelistria Cathedral in Pallouriotissa, Nicosia and he was given full honors in the presence of the President of the Republic of Cyprus, the Council of Ministers and leaders of the political parties in Cyprus.