Picture of George McEwan
Yassas - is it hello OR for you?
by George McEwan - Sunday, 18 March 2012, 03:35 PM
  Trying to learn Greek from a couple of different sources and am now confused.
I always thought yassas or yassou meant hello, but one place I'm studying with says that Xeretay means hello and yassas means "for you"
Which is correct, cheers, George
Picture of Christophe Grandsire-Koevoets
Re: Yassas - is it hello OR for you?
by Christophe Grandsire-Koevoets - Sunday, 18 March 2012, 03:51 PM
  It's slightly more complicated than that, and comes from the fact that different words in Greek can be pronounced the same but mean something different.

First, "Xeretay" (correct spelling χαίρετε) does indeed mean "hello", but is relatively formal. You wouldn't use it among friends. It's just the normal way of greeting strangers.

As for "yassas" and "yassou", here's the story:
  • When spelled γεια σας and γεια σου, they do indeed mean "hello" (the first one when speaking to more than one person, or formally to one person, the second when speaking informally to one person). Γεια σου is even the most common way to greet friends. Literally, they mean "your health" (a common way to greet people. In French, one says "salut" to greet people informally, and that word does also mean "health").
  • When spelled για σας and για σου, they do indeed mean "for you", the first one when speaking to one person formally or to more than one person, the second one when speaking to one person informally.
So what's the difference between the two? It's a question of stress: γεια σας and γεια σου are pronounced "YASsas" and "YASsou", with the stress at the beginning, while για σας and για σου are pronounced "yasSAS" and "yasSOU, with the stress at the end.

So to answer your question: "yassas" is both "hello" and "for you". Spelling and stress disambiguate. It's just a case of near homophony (words that mean something different but are pronounced the same or nearly the same way).