Picture of David Shaffer
Difference between χάρις and χάριν
by David Shaffer - Tuesday, 10 July 2012, 02:37 PM
  I am a student of the Bible and I try to research the Greek texts to better understand the true meaning. I am not a formal student of Greek, but try to study it on my own. I am having a difficult time understanding the difference between the use of charis (Strong's 5485) and charin (Strong's 5484). From my studies, throughout the New Testament when the English words "grace" and "favor" are found, the Greek word charis is used. When "grace" and "favor" are found in the Old Testament (the Hebrew word chen), the Septuagint uses the word charin. My studies say that charis is a noun and that charin is an adverb (in one place it calls it an imperfect preposition). I am having a difficult time understanding the difference between the two words, and why the Septuagint would use the Greek charin in the Old Testament to mean basically the same thing as the Greek charis in the New Testament. Can someone please help me understand the difference and why the different words would be used? I am stymied in my studies until I can resolve this question. Any help would be GREATLY appreciated!
Picture of Greg Brush
Re: Difference between χάρις and χάριν
by Greg Brush - Wednesday, 11 July 2012, 12:04 PM
  In the Koine Greek of the Biblical era, (την) χάριν was the accusative caseform of nominative (η) χάρις. Thus χάριν, as an accusative, was used as the direct object of a verb, or as the grammatical object of various prepositions which required the accusative case of their objects, while nominative χάρις was used as the grammatical subject of a sentence or clause.